Posted by: @spdlm | 15 Feb 11

Cheeky and expensive but marvellous

I had a fantastic evening

We were celebrating our anniversary recently and decided to go to one of the talked about Sushi place in High Street Kensington area (London). I had a good vibe about the place. Entrance to a restaurant is very important for me and this place had it just right for me. Subtle, clean, chic and almost understated. Warm welcome inside, with mixture of western courtesy and Japanese greetings. So, I was looking forward to the dinner and the whole experience.

After the obligatory which-language-shall-I-speak-to-you-sir moment (I am Japanese/English bilingual), we settled for Japanese and we were led to our table. Still quite excited about the place. The menu came, which was really heavy, clean and easy to read. The food came (a fusion style starter, 8 piece sushi platter for her and 12 pieces for me), which was really nice, we ate quickly and we were out of the place quite quickly, as we usually are.

What did I just eat?

It wasn’t until I sat down on the tube on the way home, when I started to relive the dinner. We really had good time, full stomach, large bill and home early. But what did we eat? You see, this place did serve Sushi but it wasn’t Sushi. Really fresh fish, chop sticks and some other familiar Sushi stuff on the table, but there was no soy sauce. All of the Sushi served to us were already flavoured. Each fish was dipped in different sauce by the time they came to our table. The reason why we couldn’t remember in detail what we are, was because we could remember the sauce but not the fish. When I eat Sushi, I remember which fish was particularly nice that day, or not so nice, or which fish I could not order because the chef couldn’t get any from the market that day. I never left a Sushi restaurant remembering the flavours of the sauces.

Marketing lesson

I don’t feel bitter that I didn’t eat properly traditional Sushi. That’s pretty hard to find in London anyway. The fact that we paid enough to eat at a Michelin star restaurant and we didn’t actually eat what we set out to eat made me feel a little humble, in slightly ironic way. In short, we got duped, but we got duped very politely and pleasantly. This is an important lesson for me. A few people have told me that a good sales person can sell things that people didn’t even realise they needed. There is the other school which says it is all about the quality of the product. This place had both. They didn’t sell Sushi I was looking for, but they didn’t force it to me, I did enjoy it and they got away with an extortionate pricing! Marvellous!

The next time I prepare the marketing pitch for our product, I am going to think less about how we conform to the definition of a good E2.0 product but a little more about what our take on this technology is. Shame we can’t really do too much about the pricing.


Leave a Reply

Categories

